Moruleng Stadium to Host 2017 COSAFA Tournament

1 May 2017
1 May 2017, Comments: 0

The 20th edition of the annual Council of Southern African Football Association (COSAFA) tournament will be played at Moruleng Stadium from 25 June – 9 July 2017.

This year’s tournament will see a total of 14 teams compete for the tournament, including guest nations such as Ghana and Tanzania, which will have the third different format for the tournament since the original COSAFA Cup that was inaugurated in 1997.

Previously, participants of this tournament included regional teams in world football such as Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Namibia, Réunion, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zimbabwe and Zambia. South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe are the only countries to have claimed the COSAFA championship title thus far. Each have four titles to their name, with Angola claiming three.

Comments are closed.